Malcolm Ting surged into the lead after round one of the Toyota Tour Qualifying School Leg 1 when he carded a two-under 70 on a sun-baked Tiara Melaka GCC course.

On a hot and windy day, Ting registered four birdies against two bogeys to emerge as the only player in the field of 64 who played to par or better, chalking up a two-stroke lead over amateur lady Tan Ying Ying who surprised with a one-over 73.

Hafiy Suhaili finished a stroke further back while six others including Toyota Tour 2023 Elite Junior player Wan Hasnul Daniel finished at three-over 75s.

“I had a good start with three birdies in a row from the Par 5 second hole,” said Ting. “Added another on the Par 3 sixth then got stopped by a bogey on the next.”

As the day got hotter, Ting’s focus started to wither and he bogeyed 13th, regrouped for a birdie on the 16 but bogeyed the tough Par 3 17th which, unsurprisingly played as the toughest hole today, averaging at 3.85.

“The course layout is not easy and trying to manage it was more challenging in the hot sun,” said Ting.

“But I managed to keep my cool and am very satisfied with my round.”

Ting turned pro in October last year after competing in the prestigious Asia Pacific Amateur Championship in Melbourne. He also represented Asia against Europe in the Ryder Cup-styled Bonallack Trophy in Malaga, Spain.

The primary objective of this event is to provide golfers with the opportunity to secure playing rights on the Toyota Tour for the 2024 season. Competitors will vie for a chance to advance their careers on the Toyota Tour which is organised by the Professional Golf Malaysia and delivered by MST Golf.

Participants who manage to score 15-over and better will be granted their coveted tour cards, signifying a significant milestone in their professional golf journey.

Following the qualifying school, the opening round of the Toyota Tour – the Tun Ahmad Sarji Trophy – will take place at the Saujana Golf & Country Club from Feb 27-29.

Leading Round One Scores
70 (-2) - Malcolm Ting
73 (+1) - Tan Ying Ying (am)
74 (+2) - Hafiy Suhaili
75 (+3) - Amalia Shahzan (am), Chong Chee Ming, Hariz Hezri (am), Wan Hasnul Daniel (am), New Fu Yeong (am), Zaeem Jafri